DEVIATION – Book Release-Blog Tour-My Review

I have another book tour and review for you! I’m participating in the book release tour for Heather Hildenbrand’s second book from the Clone Chronicle Series, DEVIATION. At the end of this post you will find my review of this book, which I received in exchange for an honest review.



Purchase on Amazon:

Until a month ago, eighteen-year-old Ven had never set foot outside the windowless warehouse where she was created. An Imitation of Raven Rogen, Ven spent her days confined in the lab, studying videos of her Authentic, all so she could step into Raven’s life at a moment’s notice.

Now, Ven lives in Raven’s penthouse apartment, kisses Raven’s boyfriend, and obeys every order from Raven’s dad, Titus Rogen—the very man who created her. But Ven has a secret plan. She doesn’t want Raven’s life. She wants her own.

In the action-packed sequel of Imitation, Ven wages a dangerous war against Titus. First she’ll free herself, then she’ll free every last Imitation. . . .

Haven’t started the Clone Chronicles yet? Start it out with Imitation!

Purchase on Amazon:

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face. Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?

Fans of Cinder, The Selection and Sara Shepard’s Lying Game series will love Imitation, a thrilling, action-packed novel sure to keep readers guessing until the very last page.


Want to win a paperback copy of Dirty Blood by Heather Hildenbrand along with Clone Chronicles swag? Sign up for her mailing list at One lucky subscriber will be chosen on 2/7/15 to win the prize!


About Heather Hildenbrand

Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. (She’s only slightly socially awkward as a result.) Since 2011, she’s published more than eight YA & NA novels including the bestselling Dirty Blood series. She splits her time between coastal Virginia and the island of Guam and loves having a mobile career and outrageous lifestyle of living in two places. Her most frequent hobbies are riding motorcycles and avoiding killer slugs.

Heather is also a publishing and success coach bent on equipping and educating artists who call themselves authors. She loves teaching fellow writers how to create the same freedom-based lifestyle she enjoys. For more information visit and find out how to create your own Outrageous Life.

She is represented by Rebecca Friedman. You can find out more about Heather and her books at

Or find her here:

Facebook Fan Page

Other titles by Heather Hildenbrand:

Imitation, book 1 in the Clone Chronicles

Dirty Blood (book 1, the Dirty Blood series)
Amazon Kobo B&N
Cold Blood (book 2, Dirty Blood series)
Amazon Kobo B&N
Blood Bond (book 3, Dirty Blood series)
Amazon Kobo B&N
Blood Rule, (book 4, Dirty Blood series)
Amazon Kobo B&N
Amazon Kobo B&N
Across the Galaxy
Amazon Kobo B&N
DreamKiller: The Complete Saga (a novella)
Amazon Kobo B&N
A Risk Worth Taking
Amazon B&N
The Indie Author Guide: A Self-Publisher’s Toolbox
Amazon B&N


My  Review:   ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥/ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

With everything that was going on last year, although I did read Imitation, I wasn’t able to review it here. I will review Book One in the coming weeks. As for Book 2, Deviation, it is a good follow-up to the first. It does give some reference to how Ven came into her present situation; this book can be read as a stand alone, although I highly recommend reading Imitation first.

Ven is still taking the place of her ‘authentic’ Raven, but is still trying to be comfortable in her own skin. She  is more than just an ‘imitation’; she is not a junked car to be used for parts at Titus’s whim. She realizes that she is a living, breathing person with emotions that are hers and hers alone. Her relationship with Linc, her bodyguard and love interest intensifies and deepens.

Not everyone is who they seem to be; friends sometimes are really enemies, and enemies are allies. Ven suffers betrayal and loss unimaginable and fights harder with other freed imitations to bring down the greedy, evil, and corrupt Titus. Finding out that he answers to a high-ranking government official makes Ven and the rest of the free imitations step up their efforts to find a safe haven when they are ready to rescue the rest.

Morton, Melanie, Obadiah, and Daniel are well written and fleshed out secondary and tertiary characters with their own distinct personalities. Ven’s character has grown immensely, and Titus…well, he’s just more evil. What can I say. The ending had me at the edge of my seat wanting to know what happens next…

There are several unforeseen plot twists and turns in this episode and I had difficulty putting it down. I noticed minimal grammatical and spelling errors. I thoroughly enjoyed Book 2 of the series and am looking forward to the next book in the Clone Chronicles series. I would recommend this book for YA readers.