Home » IWSG » #IWSG – WORDS TO PAPER, FINALLY

#IWSG – WORDS TO PAPER, FINALLY

Hello all! Oh my gawd, I almost forgot it’s IWSG day!

IWSG-badgeSo that means it’s time for another meeting of the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG.

My hero, the amazing Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh founded this group and it has become a safe haven if you are an insecure writer.

Click the image if you would like to be a part of the #IWSG family. You won’t regret it.

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak.

 

The awesome co-hosts for the May 4 posting of the IWSG are Stephen Tremp, Fundy Blue, MJ Fifield, Loni Townsend, Bish Denham, Susan Gourley, and Stephanie Faris!

Don’t forget to thank them for their hard work!

Health issues and my recent struggles with depression have caused me to spend less time blogging and interacting with my online friends. Not only that, I hadn’t written or edited a word for at least two months. Until today. A few days ago a friend asked me, while I was in the middle of a sobbing episode, if I’ve still been writing. I sobbed some more and told her I just didn’t have the energy. 

After I calmed down, she reminded me how much I used to talk about the stories in my head and the editing that needs to be done on my WIPs. She knows writing is my release and always makes me feel better. I thought about what she said and decided I needed to push past my depression and write something – anything. 

Today, I pulled up one of my WIPs and spent a good half hour just staring at the screen drawing blanks. I finally read through some of my chapters and saw a scene in my head. I went with it and was able to type about 1,000 words. It felt good. I almost forgot how much I missed it because I’ve been so focused on everything else going on in my life. 

I’m hoping to keep up the momentum and let it all out. Any suggestions on jump starting when having a rough time? I could use the advice.

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “#IWSG – WORDS TO PAPER, FINALLY

    • Thanks for the additional words of advice. I’m definitely going to try it. I appreciate the visit and comment. Hope you had an awesome holiday. 🙂

      Like

  1. I wrote 800 words yesterday after having not written anything new since, oh my goodness, last fall? Is that possible? I have been editing things and such, but that’s pitiful. It was for a short story contest, but when I went to the site, the deadline was the 3rd, not the 30th. Boogersnot. Oh well. I’ll just have to find somewhere else for it.

    I hope you feel better soon and the writing continues.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Tamara, I was feeling down about that for a while, but I’m good now. Sorry you accidently missed your deadline. OMG, you said Boogersnot! I love it! Stealing it!

      Like

  2. Great for you. Sometimes, it takes a friend to remind us of those things that keep our head above water. I hope you’re continuing with your writing. It doesn’t have to be a thousand words per day either. One hundred words are also okay. Just write.
    Sending you greetings out of good old Europe.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whenever I need to get back into a story I haven’t looked at in a while, I do what you did — I start reading through it again. That never fails to get me back into the right mindset and get the ideas flowing again. Hang in there and let yourself enjoy writing again.

    Like

  4. Good friend you’ve got there. Don’t let this momentum slip! Keep writing. Every day. Every day you must focus on working on your WIP. The more you put into it, the more energy you’ll find. (I’ve been battling depression too, and I will say it helps when I sit down at the computer. Like reading a good book, writing is an amazing escape.) Good luck!

    Like

  5. Eva!
    I think you just found your jump start. You just needed to remember how much you enjoyed it. We all have ways of releasing stress. If writing does that for you, then I’m glad you sat down and did something about it. Just no pressure on yourself. Write to enjoy.

    Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

