Home » BOOK REVIEWS » A WORD ABOUT REVIEWS AND GOOD NEWS!

A WORD ABOUT REVIEWS AND GOOD NEWS!

As you all know, I’ve done a lot of thinking as far as the direction I want to take this blog. I’ve done more book reviews lately, and will continue to do so. I get many requests from authors to read and review their work in exchange for an honest review. I try to do that.

If you notice, I post mostly positive reviews of books I like in an effort not to hurt anyones feelings. I don’t think that’s fair to other authors who’ve approached me, though. If I’ve accepted a book to read for a review, it’s only fair that I give my honest opinion. I’m not disrespectful in my reviews, because I know how hard most authors work on their books. From now on, I’m going to include all-star (1-5) reviews on my blog. It’s only fair. The lower my heart rating though, the more I would explain WHY I decided to give it.

I see a lot of people, particularly on Amazon that love to bash reviewers with comments about having the nerve to offer spelling, grammar, or formatting advice to the authors they reviewed. I scratch my head thinking about that. Isn’t that what an author would WANT from their readers? That way they could make necessary corrections and edits, thereby putting out a better product in an update. **Shrugging my shoulders** I’ve seen reviews thumbed down because of it, mine included.

Anyway, my rating system goes by hearts. ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ Since most sites don’t have half star ratings, I round either up or down depending on how close the rating is to the star (or heart) the book is. Savvy? 

==================================

Now that I’ve got that covered, I’ve got some great news for both AUTHORS and READERS/REVIEWERS!

ReadRev

If you’re an author and need to get some unbiased reviews, click on the image to get a hold of Jessica Therrien to add one of your books to the Challenge Library. If you’re a reader and want to find some amazing books to review, click on the image above to find out how to participate!

 

 

2 thoughts on “A WORD ABOUT REVIEWS AND GOOD NEWS!

Scribble your thoughts here...

