Home » BOOK REVIEWS » Book Review – THE SEVENTH MAN

Book Review – THE SEVENTH MAN

Hey everyone. I’m excited to be doing one of the things I love most today – book reviewing! Being under the weather for a while and having a lot on my plate had taken its toll, but I’ve caught up on some reading and rarin’ to go. Horror, Thrillers, and Suspense novels have always been my favorite genres to read. 

As you all know over the span of this blog, I’ve broadened my horizons to experiment with different genres. I’m pleasantly surprised to now be a fan writing I never would’ve considered in the past. 🙂 I’m also happy that I recently read something that brings me “full circle”, back to one of my original genres – a wonderful suspense thriller.

Today I’ll be reviewing The Seventh Man, by Lisa Buie-Collard.

7thMan

 

TITLE:  THE SEVENTH MAN

AUTHOR: LISA BUIE-COLLARD

GENRE: THRILLER/SUSPENSE

RATING:  ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ / ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 4.5

 

 

BLURB:

When a young writer is kidnapped by a man who can’t be seen, her only hope of escape rests on the one London cop who believes in ghosts. On a cold, white, before-Christmas day, an assassin completes a job only to be pursued by police. Dodging through crowded city streets, the assassin nabs a young woman for cover. Celia Wight, a reclusive American writer is shopping between engagements during a book tour. When a knife is pressed against her back, she loses her tenuous grasp on her carefully controlled existence. Assigned to the homicide case, Detective Alban Thain, of the Metropolitan Police, suspects an assassin he calls the Wraith. The problem is, only Thain believes the assassin exists. Disregarding the consequences, Thain, who is the only one who believes there is a connection between the murder and the kidnapping, will do whatever it takes to exploit the Wraith’s first and only mistake: the kidnapping of an innocent bystander—if she is innocent.

MY REVIEW:

When a murder takes place at the Royal Bank of Scotland during a robbery, Det. Alban Thain suspects the killer is an assassin he calls the Wraith, because he’s been tracking and searching for him nearly a decade. He’s never been able to capture or prove his existence and he is the only one in the department who believes of his existence.

Emotionally damaged American authoress Celia Wight is shopping when she finds herself kidnapped in broad daylight, with a knife against her back. The reclusive writer’s world begins to unravel as the assassin shuttles her from place to place, keeping them one step ahead of the law. 

Slowly, secrets are revealed and traumas relived. There were times I didn’t know who I wanted to root for. Some parts were heart wrenching, the ending bittersweet.

This is a wonderfully crafted novel with multiple stories lines expertly woven together. The characters are all well drawn out and three-dimensional. Ms. Buie-Collard’s writing style is beautiful and she researched the police procedurals and technical aspects well. The novel had me conflicted in so many ways. If I say any more I’d be giving away spoilers, and I don’t do that.

If I had to change anything, I’d have to say I’d prefer a little less of the technical information. A little is always good, but I felt there was more than I needed for me to understand how the system works. Of course, for readers who love police procedural thrillers, this will be a huge plus. 🙂 

Overall, this was a fantastic read, and I recommend it anyone who likes a good crime, thriller, suspense. 

RATING:  4.5 OUT OF FIVE HEARTS:  ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ / ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Click to visit her site!

Click to visit her site!

My writing day consists of different things. I try to write at least three hours a day, really write. Not research, not online writing as in keeping up with my presence on the internet. I’m a mother, wife, sister, and daughter, have waited tables, been a dental assistant, teacher, journalist, gardener and architectural administrative assistant. I’ve traveled in Europe, New Zealand, and the US. I speak French and English fluently with a little Spanish on the side. I grew up in Florida, lived four years in Georgia before moving to Texas for eighteen years. For the moment, I once again find myself in Georgia.

6 thoughts on “Book Review – THE SEVENTH MAN

    • Thanks Mel. I appreciate that. I thought it might’ve been a little too short. I was afraid to write more for fear of giving away spoilers. Working on review skills. 😉

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

