Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – TIME FOR TIDBITS

A-Z Challenge – TIME FOR TIDBITS

We’re up to T in the A-Z Challenge. I’m going to tantalize you with some tidbits of my past shenanigans today. I may live to regret this…

A to Z Challenge

Hop Around and Make Friends!

sk5539452614cc6

Photo courtesy of Morguefile

When I was little, I had big dreams. I was good at a lot of things, albeit sometimes a little backwards. From the time I was about four, my mom would take me to the Mullally (sic) ice skating rink in winter and pool in the summer.

At first, Mami would rent ice skates for me. As I got older and better at it, she bought me my own pair. I did well with crisscrossing, reverse skating, T-stops, and spins. I never did get to aerial jumps because then I became obsessed with: Gymnastics!

gym9661266510348

Photo courtesy of Morguefile

My parents and I always watched the Olympics, both Summer and Winter, without fail. Summer was always the favorite. When Nadia Comaneci scored the first 10 in gymnastics in 1976, I was hooked. I ‘trained’ every day. 🙂 I’d go to the park across the street (still lived on Jerome) and practice my floor exercises: somersaults, cartwheels, back bends, and all that good stuff.

My balance beam was two long  pieces of pink yarn taped to my hardwood bedroom floor and I’d practice my ‘routine’ by staying between the yarn. I got my measurements from the book below. Don’t judge me! 😦 It was a long time ago.

I permanently borrowed a gymnastics educational hardcover from the library by stuffing it in a bag. No, I’m not proud; I was 11, poor, desperate, and stupid. It was the only coach I had. I even hid it from Mami, sure she’d whoop me, even though she wasn’t a spanker. Karma paid me back; my cousin stole it from me on a visit to MA the following summer.

Cheerleader1

Photo courtesy of Morguefile

I know I’ve mentioned in earlier posts that I’m introverted and shy. I carried a couple of extra pounds too. Soon after 6th grade started that fall, cheerleading tryouts were coming up. I wanted to go, but didn’t want to be laughed at. I didn’t have many friends, but I had a couple, Katie and Lisa. They convinced me to try out for the squad with them. I sucked it up and did.

Two days later, the cheerleading coach (who was also our English teacher, I think) came class to class announcing  those who made the squad, and thanking the girls who tried but didn’t make it that year. Lisa and I both made the squad, but Katie didn’t. I was officially a member of the Sacred Heart boys basketball team cheerleading squad.

At our first meeting, the teacher pulled m to the side and told me I had wonderful tumbling and cartwheel skills. Now if I only had coördination… I’ll have to save that for another post.

Did you know the following people were born in the Bronx?

  1. Ticotin, Rachel – Actress
  2. Tepper, William – Actor, Writer, Producer
  3. Travalena, Fred – Entertainer – specialized in comedy/impressions (1942-2009)

Do you have any tidbits you’d like to share with me from your childhood, hopes and dreams? I’d love to hear them. How’s your day going?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – TIME FOR TIDBITS

Scribble your thoughts here...

