Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – PROFESSIONALISM

A-Z Challenge – PROFESSIONALISM

Up to P in the A-Z Challenge. The first lessons in professionalism I learned in the Bronx. In high school my original goal was to study Nursing, but decided against it because of my intense fear of blood and anything gross.

A to Z Challenge

Jump Around and Make New Friends!

Instead, I chose Cosmetology and studied it through my entire sophomore year. Decided it wasn’t my thing. In junior year I changed to Secretarial Science because I thought I’d make a good living at it, and I did.

I held most jobs in high school through the summer jobs program (where you have to get working papers). Once I turned 16, I worked part-time at a burger place.

After high school I got a job as a teller at a  local bank on Fordham Road near Jerome Avenue (There goes Jerome again!), but my real coup was landing a position as a legal secretary about 1 1/2 years later at a law firm next door on the second floor.

I learned to control my Bronx accent when speaking to clients and bosses (main office was and still is in NYC), run a small one attorney law office, and manage temporary employees when it necessary. These experiences prepared me for working Wall Street and big midtown companies and corporations that would fill the next 16 or so work years.

What’s interesting to note is that I ixnayed Nursing as a profession early in life because of my fears, yet I found myself changing careers at 35 to work in EMS (Emergency Medical Services) after the death of my father in my home (in NJ) and the progression of  Mami’s Multiple Myeloma. Ironic, isn’t it?

Did you know the following people were born in the Bronx?

  1. Pascal, Adam – Actor
  2. Pakula, Alan J. – Producer, Writer, Film Director (1928-1998)

Hmm, didn’t find many P’s today. Ah, well. How long did it take you to make a career choice when you were young? Any regrets? How’s your Saturday going?

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – PROFESSIONALISM

    • I came home from work one day, got a sandwich from Blimpie and went into labor. I told the nurse I changed my mind, but she said it was too late now. Remind you to tell you that story one day. It’s pretty darn funny, although my mother didn’t seem to think so. Love you!

      Like

  1. Very interesting careers you have had. An interesting statistic in job changing is that many people will change careers as many as seven times. I’ve hit that number and then some since joining the work force before graduating high school. Oddly enough, I too was a cosmetologist getting my Texas License in 1968. Also worked as secretary, got a graduate degree in Education, taught public school and college level, owned my own business and on and on. Never bored and never regretted a single occupation. Can honestly say a Jack of All Trades with a Masters Degree in One. Your last mention occupation EMT, is so important…thank you for your service.
    Congratulations for making it through the third week. I am visiting from Co-Host AJ Lauer’s Team.
    Sue at CollectInTexas Gal
    AtoZ 2015 Challenge
    Minion for AJ’s wHooligans

    Like

    • Wow, thank you so much. It’s rare that anyone has thanked me or my colleagues for what we’ve done. That means a lot to me. I wish I could do it for a few more years, though. Hugs to you for making my night. Eva

      Like

  2. It took me too many years. I bounced around a bit. Started in journalism because that’s what I did for a high school job, and I ended up with an English degree, but did not want to teach. I didn’t last 10 years in that profession. It was punishing, and low-paying. Since then, I’ve been a bus driver, a technical writer, done communications for a sizeable organization, gotten a Master’s in Political Science, dabbled in party politics, and eventually landed in higher education and the blogosphere.

    Lovely experience, but not much money in it. If I regret anything, it’s not targeting a high-paying profession and making my money while I was in my 20s and early 30s. But hey, at least I am a pretty good writer and understand the sociology of the Internet fairly well.

    It’s interesting what you say about reining in your accent. I do that. I have a southern U.S. accent, and I modulate it based on who I am talking to. I speak almost perfect English when I am taking to the provost of a university, but when I am among family and friends I talk like I grew up in the woods, because I did. 🙂

    I notice you are one of Lisa’s Live Wires. I hope you are enjoying that experience. My sister is one of Stormy’s Sidekicks, and she is loving it.

    Followed you on Twitter and Facebook, btw. @Sourcererblog on Twitter is me 🙂

    Happy A to Z!

    Like

  3. You’ve done lots of challenging things. Lily Eva and I know you were a star at all of them. I wanted to help my Dad run our riding school so that’s what I did till it was sold. Then I wrote about growing up there in Tails of Sweetbrier.

    Like

  4. I trained as a secretary in England with shorthand-typing which I never thought would become obsolete. Most of my life that’s what I did – secretarial work. There were divergences though.

    Like

    • I studied Gregg shorthand, which I didn’t think would become obsolete either. None of my bosses ever required it. Most of them that used needed something transcribed used a dictaphone, and I would type it from that. It’s a shame really, because I lost the skill after a few years from lack of use.

      Like

  5. I jumped profession dreams a lot as a kid and locked in with author at 15. Probably a few regrets along the way, but not with choosing it as the dream job. Interesting how you returned to the original idea.

    Like

    • Close to it, anyway. Nursing pays a lot more. I might’ve had to work one FT and maybe a per-diem job. Instead, I worked EMS FT for a city, per-diem for two other municipalities (one may as well have been FT considering the hours I worked). No regrets. If I could, I’d jump at the chance to do it again, even PT. Hugs.

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

