Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – HALL of FAME for GREAT AMERICANS

A-Z Challenge – HALL of FAME for GREAT AMERICANS

hofofa-bcc

Click to go to Site!

H is today’s A-Z Challenge letter. Here is another landmark and area of interest that I knew nothing about until I started this challenge. I’m going to make it a point to visit the next time I go to the Bronx.  The things I’ve missed out on. Sheesh! My borough has a Hall of Fame for Great Americans on the campus of Bronx Community College. It used to be part of NYU’s University Heights campus, but because the University was in severe financial distress, they sold it to CUNY in 1973.

A to Z

Jump Around!

Click on the image to visit the site directly, take a virtual online tour, or browse some photos in their gallery.

Technically, the Hall isn’t a hall; it’s a 630 foot outdoor gallery that half-encircles the college’s library and displays 38 bronze sculptured busts of famous and influential people from our past.

 

A-ZLisaLiveWires

Take a sec to visit our awesome Co-host, Lisa!

When you have a minute, make sure to visit Lisa’s other hard-working Live Wires and click on the image to visit our fantastic co-host too. 😀

Rhonda AlbomBob R. MilneTamera NarayanDoreen McGettiganStephanie FarisHeather McCubbin

Did you know that the following people were born in the Bronx?

  1. Hirsch, Judd – Actor
  2. Higgins-Clark, Mary – Writer
  3. Heckerling, Amy – Writer
  4. Hughes, Frank John – Actor
  5. Harris, Jonathan – Actor

Are there any hidden gems in your hometown that you just recently  found out about? Do you know any of  the people I’ve mentioned above? What’s your theme for this challenge, if you haven’t already told me?

 

16 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – HALL of FAME for GREAT AMERICANS

    • Sorry it took a while to respond to your comment. I had to fish it out of my spam folder! Thanks for the visit and comment. I’ll be sure to pass by soon. Have a great night. Eva

      Like

    • Lol, GMD you’re too funny! I don’t think this Lily Eva Blake person will show up as any famous person though. She’s just the alter ego of some lady who loves and is loved by her Dragon Fellowship. 😀 I love you!!! Xoxoxo

      Like

    • I like it too, Alex. My godson goes to BCC where the Hall is. Next time I go visit, I’ll ask him to give me the tour. Lisa’s Minions are awesome. 🙂

      Like

    • Nice! I loved Lucille Ball! I was addicted to I Love Lucy as a kid. Sometimes I’ll still watch re-runs if I can. Thanks for the visit and comment; I’ll make sure to scoot over again when I have a minute. Hugs. Eva

      Like

    • I’m sure there are. I didn’t even know what gems were in my own hometown until I searched. I understand the Hall has gone through renovations as well.
      Thanks for the visit and I’ll make sure to pop in again soon. Eva

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Nope, didn’t know about this! The US is filled with so many tiny gems like this. One of the few TV shows I enjoy is Mysteries At the Museum, which spotlights interesting artifacts from museums all over the country, and the stories behind them.

    Liked by 1 person

Scribble your thoughts here...

