Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – F is for a FEW THINGS

A-Z Challenge – F is for a FEW THINGS

Hey everyone! Up to letter F of the A-Z Challenge. Did you know Fordham University’s Rose Hill campus is in the Bronx? It is, and it’s gorgeous. Click on its name to learn more.   FrdUFntAnywho, Fordham’s Bronx campus is 85 acres and boasts Gothic architecture and tree-lined walkways. I remember going to summer camp here during my freshman year of high school. Loved. It! They’re also across the street from the Botanical Garden.

Check out the others!

Jump Around!

Had I made better decisions in my youth, this could’ve been a college worth attending. I went from being in the top five of my high school class my first three years, to graduating in the middle. Why? I decided half of what I was learning wouldn’t apply to me in the ‘real world’, so I succumbed to peer pressure; I cut classes senior year and took an academic beating.

Has anyone ever watched the movie Fort Apache, The Bronx (1981)? It starred Edward Asner, Paul Newman, and Ken Wahl. It was loosely based on the 41st Precinct in the South Bronx back in the 60’s-80’s.

It was  a controversial film because most Blacks and Hispanics were portrayed as drug dealers, criminals, and/or prostitutes.

Community activists protested during filming and the producers changed locations several times within the Bronx to avoid problems.
Thanks to Video Detective at YouTube for use of the trailer.

 

I actually met Mr. Newman when they filmed a scene on University Avenue and Fordham Road. I was about 15 years old. He was a friendly man and I remember thinking to myself, ‘Why’s his face so red?’ Leave it to me, right. Don’t recall the conversation, but I know Mom was upset she was home and not with me. She was a fan of his. 🙂

Did you know that the following people were born in the Bronx?

  1. Frehley, Ace – Musician, Singer
  2. Fisher, Guy – Organized Crime, Drug Dealer
  3. Fredericks, Ellsworth – Cinematographer (Invasion of the Body Snatchers)
  4. Funkmaster Flex – Rapper, Musician, Music Producer
  5. Frisch, Frank – Baseball Player (1898-1973)

Have you met and chatted with any superstars? Did they disappoint? Any famous (or infamous) people come from your neck of the woods? Do tell…

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – F is for a FEW THINGS

    • I’ve actually met a few people, most while I was working in NYC. This was a long time ago. I haven’t met anyone recently. Thanks for the visit; I’ll be by soon. Eva

      Like

    • You’re so right, JL. I try not to dwell on it, but sometimes I can’t help myself. Lol. Thanks for the visit and comments. Have a great day. Hugs. Eva

      Like

    • Did you? Awww, he was really nice to take time out to talk to some of us. Thanks for stopping by to comment. I’ll make it a point to pass by again. Enjoy the rest of your day. Eva

      Like

    • I love you too, GMD! I always wanted to meet Richard Chamberlain. I remember seeing him in the movie The Slipper and the Rose at Radio City Music Hall during a third grade field trip. I completely forget what the live performance was…I didn’t think third graders swooned, but I sure did. 🙂 Hugs.

      Like

    • I like Jamie Lee Curtis. Seriously? The Mad Hatter? I don’t know about that one. You must’ve gotten quite the looks. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I’ll be by again soon. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  1. Never had the pleasure of meeting anyone like that in person. But I’ve killed vampires with Angel, gone to parties with Tom Selleck, danced with many stars in my dreams. Does that count? 🙂

    elleck

    Liked by 1 person

Scribble your thoughts here...

