Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – E is for EDGAR ALLAN POE

A-Z Challenge – E is for EDGAR ALLAN POE

Hey all! Up to E in the A-Z Challenge! You’ll notice my title says Edgar Allan Poe. Before you all start Googling away and raising your arms in protest, no he was NOT born in the Bronx. Ge’ez…

A-Z Challenge

Jump Around!

When I was a young adult between 17-20ish (yeah, THOSE years) I used to hang out in a little park on the Grand Concourse called Poe Park poeparkwith my friends. Hmm. There was a little white cottage at the end, by Kingsbridge Road and the Grand Concourse and all I knew was that it was a landmark of some sort.  It wasn’t until I did research for this challenge that I learned it was where Poe lived out most of his last days. Who knew? I probably should have; the park’s name ALONE was my first clue. Gawd I was a hot mess back in the day.

poecottage

Poe Cottage in the Bronx

Anyway, sometime after 1846, he and his wife Virginia (also his cousin) moved there. Virginia passed away there on January 30, 1847 from what we now know was tuberculosis.

Even though he spent the last years of his life at the cottage, he was found disoriented on the streets of Baltimore, Maryland on October 3, 1849 and died October 7, 1849 at Washington Medical College at 5:00 in the morning.

Did you know that the following people were born in the Bronx?

  1. Elliott, Ross – Actor
  2. Evans, Tiffany – Actress
  3. Ephron, Henry – Playwright, Screenwriter, Film Producer, Writer

Not too many ending with E that I could find.

So, are you as surprised as I am that EAP spent his final years in my hometown? Can you believe I was actually that clueless? :/

Indeed, there is an eloquence in true enthusiasm that is not to be doubted.Edgar Allan Poe

 

 

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – E is for EDGAR ALLAN POE

  1. Who knew?! Super cool factoid to realize though (even if it was years later – we were all young and clueless once – sometimes I yearn for those days!). I recently acquired an audio book version of the Best of Edgar Allan Poe. Very talented, but odd sort!

    Like

    • I agree! Sorry it took a few days to reply to your comment; I had to fish it out of my spam folder. Thanks for the visit and comment. I’ll be sure to pass by soon. Eva

      Like

  2. Hi Eva!
    I am still amazed at what I ignored back in “the day” and I am quite far removed from those days.
    The good news is…hopefully with age we understand what we missed as young people and try to pay more attention now!
    Thanks for the follow…I look forward to learning more about the Bronx by following you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t even worry about “missing” the meaning of the park.. during one of my hot mess years, I lived in Paris and never once did I climb up the Eifel tower or see the Mona Lisa…

    and why…

    Well, the bloody things will still be there tomorrow… I said… until the day I left 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Never been very keen on Poe. Tried to read his books many years ago but just couldn’t get to enjoy them. I was in my early 20’s at the time;a girlfriend and I tried to read them together and found we didn’t understand half of the words he used.

    Like

    • I still have trouble with his works, Grandma Jo. I have a couple of favorites, but I want to continue learning and understanding him. I think I did well on him in school, but it’s a little chunk I don’t remember. Hope you had a great day. Love you.

      Like

  5. It’s not cheating. The landmark is a perfect topic for your letter E post and who doesn’t enjoy learning interesting tidbits about Poe. I stopped by from Alex’s blog. He promoted your blog with his letter E post. It’s quite an honor for Alex to pay tribute to a blog, so I had to come by and visit. I will check back more during the challenge.

    Melissa Sugar
    sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by, Melissa. I appreciate it. I’m shocked and honored that Alex did that for me too. Don’t tell, but part of me is still doing a little happy dance. 🙂 I’m definitely passing by your blog as soon as I have a moment; it’s title alone intrigues me. Hope you had a great weekend. Eva

      Like

    • I totally agree with you on that, CD! Ha, gargoyles. Maybe that’s why it never caught my attention. Thanks for the visit and comment. Hope you enjoyed your weekend. Eva

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

