Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – D is for DODGE

A-Z Challenge – D is for DODGE

Hey all! It’s Day 4 of the A-Z Challenge and we’re up to the letter D. Today my D stands for Dodge — as in Grace H. Dodge Vocational High School! Class of 1983 right here… 🙂 I’m sorry, it’s now known as Grace Dodge Career and Technical Education High School.

Click to sign-up!

Click to sign-up!

It’s funny how I knew absolutely nothing about the namesake of my high school until I did some research for this challenge. Grace Hoadley Dodge was a philanthropist. You can click on her name to read more about her.

She was the great-granddaughter of David Low Dodge and the granddaughter of William E. Dodge.

dodge

Here is a  more recent picture of the school I found online. I’d include some pics, but photos and albums are still packed away in boxes. I think my daughter has possession of some of them too. Another reason I’m partly ‘winging’ this years challenge.

After doing some research, I’ve come to find that Dodge has become one of the lowest rated schools in the City. That makes me sad. I was lucky that there were teachers that really cared back then and when I was starting to think I didn’t need high school, a few of them knocked sense into me before I quit. I wound up having years left of growing up to do, but I still thank those teachers that cared.

Did you know that the following people were born in Da Bronx?

  1. Doctorow, E.L.-Writer, Editor, Professor and here is his website
  2. Darin, Bobby-Actor, Singer
  3. Dash, Stacey-Actress
  4. DeCandido, Keith-SciFi/Fantasy Writer, Musician
  5. DeLillo, Don-Writer

How did you do in high school? Ever feel like you wanted to quit something important but people stepped in and helped save you from yourself? How awesome is it that E.L. Doctorow was born in the Bronx!

See you mañana!

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – D is for DODGE

    • I know what you mean, Cait. I hope the environment and the teacher situation improves there. Education is supposed to be about the kids and nothing else.

      Thanks for the visit and comment. I’ll make sure to pass by shortly. Hope you enjoyed your weekend. Eva

      Like

    • Oh wow, Lisa. That must’ve made you feel so sad. I’m glad that I can go back whenever I want just to see her for memories sake.

      Been there, done that with college, too. Love you! Happy Easter.

      Like

    • At first the title said Dodge H.S., but then I wanted people to wonder what it was about. I guess it worked! I didn’t even think about Dodge as in Westerns. Good one. Love you, GMD. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  1. Nice to meet another member of the Class of 83 (different school of course!). Memories of school are a funny thing, right? I thought I went to a great school until someone made a comment years later that made me go back and really look at it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay for ’83! We rock. 🙂 I mentioned to another commenter that although my school wasn’t the greatest back then, most of the teachers really cared about us and tried to steer us in the right direction. I’m glad I listened.

      Thanks for visiting back and I’ll be sure to keep checking your posts throughout the month. Happy Sunday, Eva

      Like

  2. Sorry that it turned out so low in later years… you are doing okay, so you are part of the good things… Welcome in the letter “D”… thank you!
    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2015]

    There’s no earthly way of knowing.
    Which direction we are going!

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    Come Visit: You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Alex. It may not have been a top school back then but the teachers definitely cared about us. It was sad reading about the things going on with education over there now. Bronx HS of Science seems to be the only public school in the Bronx still with its stature. Hugs.

      Like

  3. I was part grind/ part ghost in high school. I got straight A’s, but never left the house. Luckily my family moved before my senior year and things turned around. I found good friends, first boyfriend, and still kept the A-thing going. These days, I have to tell myself not to give up on the writing. Finding an audience is tougher than being a student.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was that way for a good part of school until I fell into the ‘wrong crowd’ in senior year. Live and learn, lol. I’m glad you kept your A’s.

      My mom did let me get out of the house, but they were for well intentioned purposes. Thanks for the visit Tamara~ I’ll be by soon. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  4. that is very interesting. I love finding out famous people who went to certain schools! Michael Keaton, who just recently became famous again for Birdman went to my high school. Like 15 years before I did. We used to pull out the old yearbooks and laugh at his photo. Enjoy the challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the visit and the comment, Pam! I love Michael Keaton. 🙂 I don’t know any famous people who actually went to my school, so you’ve got me beat! Have a great day. Eva

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

