Home » A-Z Challenge » A-Z Challenge – B is for BRONX BITZ

A-Z Challenge – B is for BRONX BITZ

It’s Day 2 of the A-Z Challenge and today I’m going to mention a few facts about Da Bronx! 🙂 It’s where I was raised since I was three days old. I was born in Lenox Hill Hospital in NYC, so the first three days don’t count.

Click to sign-up!

Click to sign-up!

Did you know:

The Bronx is the 4th largest of the 5 boroughs and is the only one on the mainland.

It has about 1,420,000 residents.

The Bronx is home to three CUNY colleges:

Bronx Community College, Hostos Community College, and four-year Lehman College . I did a brief stint at Lehman after high school but unfortunately, after a semester I thought I was too cool for college, so I withdrew. < Smacks self > I did make up for it eventually…

nybg-classical_botanical

Click photo to visit the Botanical Garden

It is also home to the Botanical Garden (New York). I don’t know why it’s not just called the Bronx Botanical Garden. 😦  If you click on the image, it will take you directly to their site and you can find out more about this treasure in the Bronx.

The Botanical Garden has 50 gardens and more than one million living plants, including 30,000 mature trees, on its 250-acre landscape. These collections include the most beautiful rose garden in the United States and tropical and desert plants displayed in the Enid A. Haupt Conservatory, where three public exhibitions are presented each year.

By the way, did you know that these famous people were born in the Bronx?

  1. Bancroft, Anne-Actress
  2. Beagle, Peter S.-Writer
  3. Balsam, Martin-Actor
  4. Bishop, Joey-Actor
  5. Blige, Mary J.-Singer, Actress
  6. Bonilla, Bobby-Baseball Player

 

That’s all I have for today! See you tomorrow…

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge – B is for BRONX BITZ

  1. Do you have the accent? I have a bit of a thing for accents. I was intrigued to read about the Botanical Gardens and amazed that such a large space could be in NYC. I guess there’s also Central Park. When I think of NYC, I just see skyscrapers. Thanks for the insight xx Rowena

    Like

    • I had a heavy Bronx accent for a long time. I lost most of it about a decade ago and it mostly came out during arguments or passionate debates. 🙂 Now it rarely comes out. Unfortunately, when most people think of the Bronx, they only think of the inner city. There are actually some very beautiful areas in the Bronx. Thanks for the visit. Sorry for the slight delay. I’m all over the place. Hugs. Eva

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m all over the place too, Eva. Thanks so much for the follow and I look forward to delving further into the Bronx and hope you enjoy your travels in Australia with us xx Rowena

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m looking forward to it! Australia is one of the places I’ve always wanted to visit. It’s up there with my parents homeland Hungary, England, France, Switzerland, and Sweden.

      Be over there soon! Thanks for stopping by. Hugs. Eva

      Like

    • There are quite a few places that would be worth seeing. Some of them surprised even me! (Hanging my head in shame)

      Thanks for the visit and comment. I look forward to the rest of your posts. Eva

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

