Home » BOOK REVIEWS » Book Review – DEFYING REASON

Book Review – DEFYING REASON

Hello all! It’s time for another book review! Today I’m going to review a New Adult / Romance called Defying Reason by Elizabeth Seckman. I read it while I was feeling incredibly crappy and I’m glad I did. It’s probably one of the few things that put a smile on my face for the nearly three weeks I was sick.

 

defy-reasonTitle:  DEFYING REASON

Author:  Elizabeth Seckman

Genre:  New Adult / Romance

Rating:  ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥/♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 4.5

Here’s the Blurb:

Jo Leigh Harper comes from a long line of trouble-making, white trash stock.
Tanner Coulter comes from a longer line of wealth-creating, blue blood stock.
Jo graduated college top of her class, moving toward a future full of possibilities.
Tanner dropped out of college, trading a law degree for drinking games and one night stands.
A family crisis throws the rich party boy and the poor genius girl together. The attraction is immediate, though neither one is a heart-in-the-sand-drawing believer in true love. But as the summer sun heats up along the shores of the Outer Banks, so does the connection between them. Maybe, just maybe, they can win at love by defying reason.

My Review:

As I mentioned, I read this when I wasn’t feeling well and this read couldn’t have come at a better time. There were parts where I couldn’t help but laugh out loud at some of the goings on in this book.

Jo Leigh’s life is turned upside down when her flighty, dysfunctional mom Gayle moves them to the Outer Banks of North Carolina because Gayle’s childhood friend Jenna sells her a cottage dirt cheap in exchange for helping her family out during a family crisis. She also wants to keep Jo away from her no good, verbally abusive boyfriend, Brad. Of course Jo wants no part of this, but she doesn’t have much choice until she starts Med school in the fall.

Tanner Coulter is a spoiled rich kid who loves to party and is flunking out of college. His father, Tres Coulter, finally puts an end to it. In one fell swoop, Tanner loses his sports car, credit card, checking account, and the friend with benefits, Becca, who dumps him right before Daddy shows up. Not knowing what to do, he calls his dad as he’s driving away and tells him he wants to go home.  He thinks it’ll be parties at the beach and hot chicks, but Dad feels he needs to learn responsibility. In order to earn back his car, he must work on the family’s cottage that his mom Jenna just sold to her friend Gayle. Uh-huh. You see where I’m going, right? 🙂

Their initial meetings are somewhat awkward, but Jo and Tanner quickly form a friendship that evolves into something deeper. Of course, there are secrets and drama and deceit… Oh, my! But, unfortunately, I can’t give any of that away because I don’t do spoilers. 

The characters felt real and I could relate to them, especially Jo. Her character was well fleshed out physically, emotionally, and psychologically. Though she is beautiful, she has flaws and insecurities that we see manifest throughout the novel. I can’t help but root for her because she’s angry at her circumstances and her mother is a train wreck, always chasing after her ‘donor’ father. 

The other characters were given distinct personalities and voices, as well. I could relate to most of them in some form or another. Except Becca. No. Just no.

I didn’t notice any spelling or grammatical errors. I liked the way the chapters alternated between Jo and Tanner’s point-of-view. 

My only complaint, if you can call it one, is the ending. When I read a book, I like to imagine what the future holds. That’s just a personal preference; I don’t know how others feel. 

Overall, I loved this book and gave it 4.5 out of five hearts. (I always round-up), so it still looks like 5/5.  🙂 I took a half-heart off because of the ending; otherwise, it would’ve gotten a full five out of five hearts from me. 

That’s it for my review today! I should have another one coming up soon! Until then everyone…

 

 

eseckmanAuthor Bio:

Elizabeth is a multi-published author of books for people who are believers in happily-ever-after, true love, and stories with a bit of fun and twists with their plots. The mother of four young men, she tackles laundry daily and is the keeper of the kitchen. She lives along the shores of the Ohio River in West Virginia, but dreams daily of the beach.

 

 

Facebook/ Blog/ Website/ Buy Link

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Book Review – DEFYING REASON

Scribble your thoughts here...

