Home » IWSG » Insecure Writer’s Support Group – NaNo Disappointment?

Insecure Writer’s Support Group – NaNo Disappointment?

Hello writers and bloggers! It’s the first Wednesday of the month and it’s time for another meeting of the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG.

       Click on the Image to Join!

Click the Image to Join!

My hero, the amazing Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh founded this amazing group and it has become a safe haven for all us insecure writers.

Click the image if you would like to be a part of this phenomenal group. You won’t regret it.

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak.

 The awesome co-hosts for the December 3 posting of the IWSG are Heather Gardner, T. Drecker from Kidbits, Eva E. Solar at Lilicasplace, and Patsy Collins!

I signed up for NaNoWriMo again last month, like I did last year. The difference was that last year, I won. This year, no. I completed 68% of my novel in the 30 days. Damn. I was every word you could think of. Disappointed. Pissed. Sad. Hurt. A Failure. It wasn’t like I didn’t know I could do it. I did it last year. Where did I go wrong

I tried planning this year when I am normally a pantster. I wondered if that had anything to do with it. I tried sticking to my outline as much as I could but would veer off all the time.

There were some unexpected issues I had to deal with personally and I planned an extended weekend long before NaNo, maybe it was that?

Then, the more I thought about it, the more I said to myself, why am I beating myself up? I’ve got over 34,000 more words down on paper (computer) than I did 30 days ago. I’m grateful, truly. It’s 34k+ words of hot mess, but I’ll take it, work with it, make stories, pieces tangible that I can submit, or even better – turn it back into the novel it was originally intended to be.

For those who participated in NaNo this year and made your 50k, whoop, whoop!! Congrats to you from me and all other insecure writers! For those who didn’t make the 50k mark, remember, you’re still amazing! Whether it’s 1k or 49k, you have more words on the page than you did when you started on November 1. In the end, we all came out winners! I’m already looking forward to next year. Perseverance and positivity is what it’s all about. Looking at the bright side of every situation.

Until next month, IWSG’ers.

 

 

 

 

101 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group – NaNo Disappointment?

    • Thanks Shannon, I appreciate the comment. 🙂 I’m notorious for doing that though. It’s definitely something I’m going to be working on next year. I’m glad you stopped by. 🙂

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

