Home » BOOK REVIEWS » THE NIGHT ONES – Gwen Bristol – Book Review

THE NIGHT ONES – Gwen Bristol – Book Review

Hey there fellow bloggers! It’s been a while since I’ve done a book review, and I happened to come across The Night Ones by Gwen Bristol while browsing around my friend Charles E. Yallowitz’s blog over at Legends of Windemere. The book was at the tail end of a promotion, and me, never one to pass up a deal, flew over to Amazon and scooped it up.

About this book… Let me tell you… It was great.

The Night Ones-Artist-LaRae Monroe http://www.laraelxdesigns.blogspot.com/

THE NIGHT ONES

by Gwen Bristol

FOUR OUT OF FIVE HEARTS      ♥♥♥♥/♥♥♥♥♥    

In one selfish act, twelve year-old Lily unleashes an army of Night Ones, monsters who are rumored to eat children.

She struggles to set her world right and save the empire, but not everything she’s been told about the Night Ones is true, and the emperor—the only person who can control the Night Ones—is missing.

To save her people, Lily must find a lost treasure, uncover the truth about the emperor, and foil a plot to kill an entire suppressed minority race. In the process, she discovers who she is—but can she complete her quest before thousands of innocent lives are lost?

I was truly impressed by the writing style of Ms. Bristol. Lily’s character was well fleshed out, and completely believable as a 12-year-old having to grow up well before her time because of a bad choice…(or was it?) The story pulled me in from nearly the beginning, and kept me turning the pages throughout.

Having been outcast from her village in trying to keep the Night Ones from attacking them, Lily wants to right the wrong she feels she has committed at the village temple. She wants to avoid the Night Ones’ wrath. However, she soon comes to find that all is not what it seems; she learns that traitors lied to, misinformed, and sacrificed her, her village, surrounding villages, and other innocents for centuries.

The only problem is, she doesn’t know who to trust anymore, or who to turn to for help. Without giving away any spoilers, I will say there was a great premise, good amount of action (nothing too gory), stubbornness and wilfulness that only a 12-year-old with too much on her plate could dish out, and a nice amount of plot twists.

There were some parts that I felt could’ve been drawn out slower and not so rushed (Seth/Mina) only because I would like to get to know them better. This was the only part that had me scratching my head a little.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the second one when it comes out. Great writing from who I believe, is a talented, up-and-coming author.

That’s my review for today. Definitely worth the read. Until next post, my friends…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “THE NIGHT ONES – Gwen Bristol – Book Review

Scribble your thoughts here...

