Home » EXPRESS YOURSELF » Express Yourself – Scariest Movie/Book

Express Yourself – Scariest Movie/Book

Hello bloggers! It’s time for Express Yourself, the weekly blog hop that posts different topics and updates monthly.

EYOct14

Click to Join!

I’m publishing my second for October, and only a day late! Whoop!

Jackie Felger from Bouquet of Books and Dani Bertrand from Entertaining Interests founded this great blog hop that has a great group of people with weekly topics that change every month. They also have a site they co-author together:  Cover Girls.

This week’s topic is:

 

 

Oct. 6, 2014-Oct. 10, 2014:

What’s the scariest movie or book you’ve ever watched or read!

Thinking about it, there are far too many scary books and movies that I’ve seen and read to be able to name off the top of my head. ‘Halloween’ terrified me when it first came out in theaters; the theme music alone still gets me to this day. I was fourteen. I’m sure by today’s standards it’s considered lame because there’s no real blood curdling violence in it. Anticipating what was going to happen is what made the movie so damn scary. That tops my list. The movie ‘It’ and based on the novel by Stephen King comes in a close second.

 Stephen King or Dean Koontz wrote most of the scary books that I read when I was younger. I haven’t read them in a while because I’ve tried to expand my horizons by reading different genres, but Pet Semetary and Carrie are definitely up there. Even though it’s on the tip of my tongue, I can’t remember the name of the Dean Koontz novel I read more than once because it was just that good. I’ll post it the day I figure it out. LOL.

That’s about all I have for this week. I look forward to next week and will try my hardest to be on time with my post!! Hugs to Dani and Jackie for being such great friends!

10 thoughts on “Express Yourself – Scariest Movie/Book

    • I saw Amityville Horror and and Exorcist as an adult; they obviously didn’t have the same impact. 🙂 Glad I didn’t see them young. Exorcist probably would’ve traumatized me. Thanks for stopping by, Ninja Captain!

      Like

  1. Managed to avoid scary books, but scary movies are too many to list here. I always stumbled into the room when one was playing as child. A commercial for ‘It’ figures prominently in my mind when I think of this.

    Like

    • I always found the books to be scarier than the movies because my imagination would tend to run away with itself. ‘It’ was something else; I mentioned to another commenter that I’m surprised I don’t have a god-awful fear of clowns.

      Like

  2. I agree with you about ‘It’ – the book and the movie! My scariest movie is John Carpenter’s ‘The Fog’, because it was the first horror I saw. Couldn’t get to sleep for 3 months! 😉😱😉

    Like

    • Lol! I remember ‘The Fog’. It scared the pants off me years ago; then when I saw it again a few years ago, I thought, ‘I can’t believe that scared me…’ Ha!

      ‘Halloween’ will always have that edge on me, I guess. I’m surprised that ‘It’ didn’t give me a lifelong fear of clowns…

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

