Home » IWSG » Insecure Writer’s Support Group-#IWSG 9/14 – Rejection

Insecure Writer’s Support Group-#IWSG 9/14 – Rejection

Hello fellow writers, blogger, authors, scriptwriters, and all others that create magic with the almighty pen! It’s the first Wednesday of the month and we know what that means:

Click on the Image to Join!

Click the Image to Join!

It’s time for another meeting of the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG.

My hero, the amazing Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh founded this amazing group and it has become THE PLACE to go if you are an insecure writer.

Click the image if you would like to be a part of this phenomenal group. You won’t regret it.

Purpose:To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak.

The awesome co-hosts for the September 3 posting of the IWSG will be Laura at My Baffling Brain, Mark Koopmans, Shah Wharton, and Sheena-Kay Graham. 

August was a rough month for me as far as my writing goes. I’d submitted several of my pieces to several contests beginning back in May. For the first time, I threw my hat in the ring for The WRiTE CLUB. I didn’t make the cut. I can’t help it that the disappointment cut me deep, even though I know I’m a new writer still learning the craft. I guess this is where the growing of the thick skin comes in, huh?

A short story and a 10-word memoir I submitted in contests also didn’t win or place. Ouch. I still have two out there that I haven’t heard anything back from yet, but my confidence is pretty shattered right about now.

I’ve heard all kinds of advice over the past year and a half. I think it’s all been good, but I’m not sure what’s best for me. Do I keep practicing and hold off on submissions for a while until I get a better handle on the craft, or do I continue to submit and try reworking the pieces to see where I might’ve lost the judges?

I don’t want to be down on myself anymore; I love this craft too much. Sometimes I want to blame my brain injury, but in my heart, I know that would only be a horrible cop-out. If I try hard, and not take all the rejections to heart, I KNOW I can get this.

Any suggestions?

 

 

20 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group-#IWSG 9/14 – Rejection

    • Oooh, I love that one. I’m going to include that in my quote list and I’m definitely going to read your post! My apologies for the late comment. Hugs and thanks for always throwing me the positive vibes!!

      Like

  1. One of the best pieces of advice I got was “Always submit. Always write.” Hope fuels the journey. Submitting provides that hope while you write something else. Repeat until something sticks. You got this. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks David, I always appreciate your sound advice! 🙂 I’m still going to submit my pieces, because as you said, hope fuels the journey. I’m sooo not ready to give up the dream! Thanks so much for your feedback. Xoxoxo. Eva

      Like

    • OMG! You are too adorable! I’ve read both of your comments. I am trying to hone as best I can. I haven’t received any feedback yet as to why my pieces were rejected. Looking at them critically, I kind of have an idea; back to the writing board for me. Sorry for the delay in responding to your comment, but I just got home from a five day stay in the hospital. I’m doing my IWSG rounds tonight. Oy!!! Love you girl, and as always, thanks for always being there for me. You rock hard core!! Xoxoxo. Eva

      Like

  2. Bah, just wrote a big long comment, it disappeared and now I can’t remember what I wrote! Chin up, hon – you can do this! Keep honing your skills. Can you get feedback from your group? Maybe your pieces just didn’t ‘click’ with the judges?
    I didn’t submit anything while I did my Creative Writing course – I just wanted to concentrate on that. Remember there’s no right or wrong way to ‘be a writer’. Whatever works for you! xxxx

    Like

  3. I wish I had some amazing advice, but I expect you’ve heard it all before. 😉 Try not to get discouraged. Maybe your pieces just didn’t ‘click’ with the judges?
    Could you get some feedback from the Insecure Writers, or others that you trust?
    I guess your course of action depends how YOU feel. Would you rather leave off submissions for a while, and hone your skills some more? That’s kind of what I did last year with my Creative Writing course.
    Remember there no right or wrong way to ‘be a writer’. Chin up, honey – you can do this! xxxx

    Like

  4. Rejection is hard. Unfortunately, the writing life is rife with rejection. Don’t let a handful of rejection slips discourage you.
    A friend gave me some very good advice when I was feeling down about query rejections. She said that I would need to receive at least 50 rejections before I could even consider stopping. She was right, the 43rd response was a positive response.

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your kind words Elizabeth. 🙂 I feel so much better already. Luckily I’m nowhere near 50 rejections yet. Hmmmm. I’m not going to let the rejections discourage me, but I will spend more time working on the craft and less time submitting. I really want to enter good work. I appreciate your visit!! Lily Eva

      Like

    • Hi Ninja, I haven’t gotten much feedback at all from the rejections, so I’m trying to figure out on my own where I might have lost the judges. I think I have a fairly good idea, now that I’ve gone back and looked critically at my work.

      I’m not giving up and will definitely keep at it. As always, thanks for your never ending vote of confidence in me. 🙂 Eva

      Like

    • Hey Charles, Oh I’m definitely reworking them. I’m reworking one now that’s taking me on a completely different journey. Aye! My brain can hardly keep up, and I wonder why I get so confuddled all the time. 🙂 So happy when you visit. Sorry it took a while to respond, but I was in the hospital for five days. You know I usually answer you quickly. xoxoxo. Eva

      Like

  5. I know it doesn’t help, but I don’t even pay attention to them. I think about books like 50 Shades of Grey and Twilight and realize that sometimes even editors and publishers don’t know what the hell they’re doing.

    Like

    • You know what?! You are absolutely right… I didn’t even think about that. I’ve never read Twilight, so I can’t speak for that book, but 50 Shades… Uh no. Girl, you are the best! Lol! You just made my night.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Don’t give up, keep going and remember why you love writing so much. Everyday we can learn and grow as a writer, it is a craft that takes practice. I know from experience it is not easy and every rejection stings, I’m not sure that stops but I think you learn to recover quicker and move onto the next idea or submission. I wish you lots of luck and happy writing times 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the words of wisdom Suzanne, I appreciate them so much. Although I may vent the way I do, I have no intention of ever giving up. Practice makes perfect, and I’ll spend the rest of my life practicing if I have to. I’m so happy you found time to visit my little corner of the world. I know it took a while to respond to your comment, but unfortunately, I was in the hospital for five days, so my IWSG rounds are being done tonight. Have a great night! Lily Eva

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

