Home » IWSG » Insecure Writers Support Group – Aug., 2014-Quotes

Insecure Writers Support Group – Aug., 2014-Quotes

Hello writers! It’s the first Wednesday of the month and we know what that means:

Click on the Image to Join!

Click the Image to Join!

Another meeting of the Insecure Writers Support Group – #IWSG. My hero, Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh founded this amazing group and it’s become THE PLACE to go if you are an insecure writer. Click the image if you would like to be a part of this phenomenal group. You won’t regret it.

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

I’m thrilled to be co-hosting this month’s meeting again. Make sure to visit my other co-hosts:

Sarah Foster, Joylene Nowell Butler, and Rhonda Albom!

I’m keeping it short and offering some famous quotes on inspiration and motivation when it comes to writing. I hope it helps!

“The objective of fiction isn’t grammatical correctness but to make the reader welcome and then tell a story …to make him/her forget, whenever possible, that he/she is reading a story at all.” ~ Stephen King

“It begins with a character, usually, and once he stands up on his feet and begins to move, all I can do is trot along behind him with a paper and pencil trying to keep up long enough to put down what he says and does.” ~ William Faulkner

“Your intuition knows what to write, so get out of the way.” ~ Ray Bradbury

“If you want to write, you can. Fear stops most people from writing, not lack of talent. Who am I? What right have I to speak? Who will listen to me? You are a human being with a unique story to tell. You have every right.” ~ Richard Rhodes

“It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for writing, but I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famous.” ~ Robert Benchley

What’s inspired or motivated you this past month?

 

 

87 thoughts on “Insecure Writers Support Group – Aug., 2014-Quotes

    • Hi Michelle, thanks so much for the visit! Fear is definitely an obstacle, but it’s an obstacle that can be overcome. I’m always afraid, but I still put my work out there. I won’t know what I can accomplish until I try.

      Anytime for co-hosting! I love doing it! Have a great day.

      Like

  1. Wonderful quotes! I especially appreciated the ones by Faulkner and Bradbury. I struggle with getting out of my own way but, when I do, I find myself running after my characters trying to write down everything! Thanks for co-hosting this month 🙂 ~ Jen

    Like

    • Lol, I know what you mean Jen. I have a tendency of doing that sometimes myself. In my case though, it’s much worse because it can throw me completely off course for quite some time. I’ve gotten better with planning, organizing, and maintaining focus on whatever I’m working on.

      Thanks so much for the visit and again, it was my honor to co-host for the Ninja Captain. Have a fabulous day!

      Like

  2. These quotes are great. I believe that no person is a failure if they followed their dreams and wrote a book, essay, short story, whatever. Even if it did not get published, was turned down, people hated it, the key is you wrote it! Fear inhibits people in so many areas. Love the Robert Benchley quote. I wrote up a little story of my past and my inspiration has been all of you! Everyone seems so nice and encouraging that I felt good to write up a little fun from my past. I say thank you to all who visit me and offered wonderful words of encouragement

    Like

    • I agree 100% with what you say. As long as we have the courage, determination, and confidence in ourselves to write and turn in our work, we’re successful. That’s how I see it. This group helped me see that; they gave me the confidence to believe in myself and put my stuff out there. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

    • So do I. If the book is truly engaging, I can let a few minor errors slip, but I expect more from authors that have been at it for a while and have multiple books. Editors, anyone? 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting. I had a blast co-hosting this month.

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

