Home » BOOK REVIEWS » Book Review – The Thirteenth Floor Collection -Christine Rains

Book Review – The Thirteenth Floor Collection -Christine Rains

Hey bloggers! I know, I know. It’s been a while since I’ve come out and done a book review. I’ve read so many since my last one, I haven’t been able to write out them out yet. I need to get cracking; it’s a long list. :/ So I’m going to start today.

(*Note: I initially read The Marquis as a free purchase on Amazon, but it was so good, I purchased the collection.) I based my review on the collection.

This review is for: The 13th Floor Complete Collection

Wonderfully written series.  Five Stars from me. *****

Six supernatural tenants
Living in a haunted apartment building
On a floor that doesn’t exist.

Six novellas telling their tales.

A retired demon acquires a price on his head.
A werewolf is hunted by her pack.
A modern day dragonslayer misses his target.
A harpy challenges Zeus for the soul of the man she loves.
A vampire is obsessed with a young woman he can’t find.
And a banshee falls in love with someone who’s death she has seen in a vision.

All the stories take place at the same time
Intertwining their lives together
on the 13th Floor.

It’s a Collection I Keep Reading Over and Over. Each novella is written about a tenant who lives on the ‘non-existent’ 13th Floor 13flrof a ‘haunted’ apartment building. Although each novella could be read as a stand alone, because of the skill Ms. Rains has in connecting these stories into one phenomenal read, I HIGHLY recommend treating yourself to the collection. Each story is woven into every other story in some small way creating a bigger picture. At the end, all I could say to myself was, ‘That was amazing; I want to write like that. How did she do it?’

If you’re into stories of the supernatural, then you will love this; vampire demons seeking redemption, mix in some werewolves, dragon slayers, banshees, and ghosts, oh my!!

The characters in each story were well-developed and fleshed out. I became invested in their lives, turning the pages and needing to know what finally happens. The stories all flow well and readers stay engaged. Ms. Rains makes it a point not to use superfluous words in her work that could draw readers out. Kudos to her editors; I was hard pressed to find any grammatical or spelling errors in this work.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ve become addicted to her stories…particularly The Marquis (sigh) I hope Ms. Rains releases another collection soon. I’ll be waiting.

Again, The 13th Floor Complete Collection Series – Five Stars *****

Have a great day all! I’ll post more reviews shortly.

6 thoughts on “Book Review – The Thirteenth Floor Collection -Christine Rains

Scribble your thoughts here...

