Home » EXPRESS YOURSELF » Express Yourself – July 21-25, 2014

Express Yourself – July 21-25, 2014

Hello bloggers! Hope everyone had a good weekend. It’s time for this week’s posting of the Express Yourself weekly meme that comes out monthly with a different topic each week.

Click Image to Join

Click Image to Join

Jackie Felger from Bouquet of Books and Dani Bertrand from Entertaining Interests founded this great blog hop that has a great group of people.

This week’s topic is:

July 21-25, 2014: What are some fave items you have that bring you comfort and/or special memories?

I don’t have too many physical items anymore that bring me comfort. I do own a few DVDs that bring back special memories, though, like Weekend at Bernie’s II. My mom loved that movie, and the way she snorted at the funny parts makes me smile every time I think about it; she probably laughed through most of that movie. šŸ™‚Ā  Music was always a big part of my life too. After I had my bleed, my daughter took me to see Dark Shadows for Mother’s Day. One of my new favorite songs is in that movie, even though it’s a classic. I wrote briefly about it here. I also posted a video of the song on that post too, if you’d like to hear it. Nothing beats an oldie but a goodie.

I have a hand written poem my dad wrote me for my twentieth birthday that I read occasionally when I’m feeling down. I also have a small bead figurine my mom made by her own hand in the hospital a few months before she passed of multiple myeloma in November 2001. I keep it in a safe place and only take it out once in a while so I can hold it close to my heart and let her know I’m OK.

It’s your turn; what items brought you comfort and special memories?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Express Yourself – July 21-25, 2014

    • I agree Alex. I’m not much into possessions either, unless they’re little sentimental ones. Movies and music I think, always strike a chord with people and memories. So happy you passed by, as usual. Hugs. Eva

      Like

  1. Books and photographs, mostly. I have many books from my childhood that are a bit bedraggled but bring back great memories of first reading them. And photos of great times and people prompt memories – and occasionally, blog posts and stories! šŸ™‚

    Like

    • True, I almost forgot about that! I do have some photos, although many were lost years ago, along with books. Now the blog posts and stories are going to be something I’ll be able to treasure. Love you mama!! Eva

      Like

    • Exactly. I’ve moved so many times since childhood that things have always managed to go missing sadly enough. But DVD’s really are great. Thanks Charles. šŸ™‚

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

