Home » WRITING » Writing101 First Day of Class-June 2, 2014

Writing101 First Day of Class-June 2, 2014

Good evening bloggers! Well, I added another something to my list of things to do in June. In order to work on my writing skills, I signed up for WordPress’s Writing-101 class. They just finished their blogging class, which I missed, but wouldn’t have been able to do anyway because I’ve been too busy.

I'm gonna try...

I’m gonna try…

Today is the first day of class. 🙂 This is our assignment:

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

Well, of course I’m going to post this on my blog. That’s the purpose, right? I can’t promise that I’m going to be able to make every single post though. The assignments come out daily. It’s not like I have time to set up a theme or plan posts ahead of time. Writing is Monday through Friday with weekends off and each day there’s an added twist. It sounds like fun and I could use the practice.

So I said to myself, ‘Self, screw it, what have you got to lose?’ Nothing. But I’ve got a lot to gain as far as discipline, time management, focus, concentration, prioritizing and best of all, meeting new bloggers. It’s a win-win for me. Even if I can’t make every single post, I promised myself that I won’t beat myself up over it. I’m going to do the best I can. I did promise that I will visit other bloggers that had written and share my thoughts on their writings, just like I did with the bloggers that participated in April’s A-Z Challenge.

Looks like my 20 minutes are about up…I’ll see how tomorrow goes.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Writing101 First Day of Class-June 2, 2014

Scribble your thoughts here...

