Home » IWSG » IWSG-I Believed, and I Achieved-NaNoWriMo Winner-2013

IWSG-I Believed, and I Achieved-NaNoWriMo Winner-2013

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Click on the Image to Join!

I cannot believe this is my first post in almost a month, and it happens to be the first Wednesday of the month, which also means… (Drum roll please… It is time for another post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group, founded by the über awesome Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh! The Ninja’s Associates for this month’s meeting are: Julie Flanders, Heather Gardner, Kim Van Sickler and Elsie is Writing. Thank you so much for assisting Alex this month! Everyone appreciates and acknowledges your time and efforts!

For those of you who are not familiar with the IWSG, it is a safe haven where writers of all levels and experience can go to discuss and post their innermost thoughts and fears without fear of embarrassment, mockery and other such tomfoolery. We are here to motivate and encourage you, not to belittle you, make you feel inadequate or weak. If you would like to become a part of this amazing group of writers, please, please, please, I encourage you, to click on the image posted beside these words and we will transport you to the IWSG website, where you can sign up.

With that being said, I must apologize to one and all for my absence these past few weeks from my blog. I thought I would be able to squeeze a few short posts in between working NaNoWriMo, but during the first week of November, I also found a place to live, so I had to pack! Anyhoo, I do apologize and will catch up at some point this month, between the move.

The bigger news is: I GOT MY WINNER BADGE ON NANOWRIMO! I know you can’t see it, but you can try to visualize me doing some crooked jumping jacks and yelling HUZZAHHH! across the room! 🙂

I validated my novel at 50,091 words, and although it is not done yet, I have a good idea of where I am heading with it and after I let it rest for a couple of weeks, I will go back and rip it apart with the editing and revisions. Realistically, I will probably only use about one-third of what I actually wrote. Ah, well, at least I have some good characters.

I cannot tell you how many times I wanted to give up during the month because I kept falling behind in my word count, at one point I was behind almost 12,000 words. Of course, we all need to motivate ourselves to keep writing and doing what we need to do, because it is work, hard work, but do you ever feel that if it were not for the push of some very special people, you would not have been able to accomplish that one very important thing you did not think you could do on your own? I know I do. For helping me get through and winning NaNoWriMo and NEVER letting me give up, thank you goes out to:

My best friend in the cyber-world, Marilyn, http://onbecomingawriter.com,

and my fellow NaNo participants and mutual winners!! Huzzahhh!!

Melissa Janda at http://melissajanda.wordpress.com, Leanne Ross at http://readfaced.wordpress.com and Catherine Lumb at http://nowrittenwords.wordpress.com or http://www.catlumb.com. Without you, I would have been a mess, and for everyone else whose blog I visited and gave boatloads of useful advice, I thank you too! That is all I have for this month’s post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. I am going to finish my Dunkin’ Donuts Pumpkin Coffee now, visit a few blogs, enjoy a good read, sleep, finish cleaning out my cottage tomorrow, and start catching up on some posts already!

PS – Have I told you all lately how very much I have missed you this past month? Oh my God, it has been torture! Until next post, I love you guys.

15 thoughts on “IWSG-I Believed, and I Achieved-NaNoWriMo Winner-2013

  1. Pingback: #IWSG: A “nervousing” state of mind | Dahlia Savage

Scribble your thoughts here...

