Home » IWSG » NaNoWriMo and IWSG-Perfect Together!

NaNoWriMo and IWSG-Perfect Together!

Hello to all my wonderful blogger friends and family! It’s the first Wednesday of the month, so you know what that means, right? It’s time for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group (ISWG)! This totally amazing group was founded by none other than the fabulous Ninja Master Alex J. Cavanaugh. It’s a safe haven for writer’s like me to share our fears, insecurities, thoughts and even triumphs with one another without the worry of ridicule or shame. It’s a place to give and receive encouragement, praise and advice. This month’s IWSG co-hosts are C.D. Coffelt, Tina Downey, Isis Rushdan and Michelle Wallace. Thank you so much for all your efforts!

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

Click on the image to join. Come on, you know you want to!!

It couldn’t have come at a better time for me this month. I am currently in the midst of doing my first official NaNoWriMo. I tried Camp NaNoWriMo earlier in the year, but fell short of my word count. I was briefly upset by it, but refused to let it get me down for long. This month, I’m going for the whole shebang. 50,000 words in 30 days. Just looking at it frightens me. The past few months have been really tumultuous in many ways, and I almost didn’t register. At the last-minute, I decided to go for it; no outline, no plan, no nothing.

Guess what? I’m doing pretty well. Almost a week in and I’m only a few hundred words short of where I should be. Today I will be buckling down hardcore with the writing and hope to get in at least another 2,500 words, which will put me ahead of where I should be. I wasn’t able to write on November 1, which is what put me behind. Since then, I’ve been slightly ahead of the game. So, I hope you guys will root for me, come visit me, cheer me on, and do whatever it is you guys do for each other during NaNoWriMo. 🙂 I’m still so unfamiliar with the workings (of course, it’s ME we’re talking about) of their site, I can’t even figure out how to put the word count widget on my blog so you can stay posted on my progress. A couple of people did buddy me on the site because I didn’t know how to do it myself. Ugh. If any of you insecure writers are doing NaNoWriMo this year, feel free to buddy me, my user name is lilicasplace . It would mean the world, since I know that come week three, I’m probably going to need a heck of a lot of cheer leading.

Anyhow, on another note, I submitted my very first ever piece of flash fiction for Spooktoberfest about a week and a half ago and it made runner-up. It is the first time I’ve ever put a piece out for real people to see! I forced myself to sign up for it because I knew that once I committed to it, I had to follow through. I’m so happy that I did. I’m still worried about showing work to people, but I truly believe that completing this piece is what has given me the courage to go after NaNoWriMo with the determination I have now.

This is my post for the month. For next month’s IWSG, I am hoping to be able to let everyone know how I ROCKED NaNoWriMo and sport my Winner badge on my blog.

Until next time… love you guys!!

22 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo and IWSG-Perfect Together!

  1. Pingback: #IWSG: A “nervousing” state of mind | Dahlia Savage

Scribble your thoughts here...

