Home » UNCATEGORIZED » Just Gotta Grieve a Little

Just Gotta Grieve a Little

Thank you my beloved blogger friends for bearing with me these past few days (actually, it has been one week exactly). It has been a horrific one. Not only did the father of a man who is like a brother pass away on the morning of the 10th, I received a call on the 11th that the son of yet another one of my co-workers (2 years younger than my own 25-year-old daughter) was found dead that morning by his father, who had tried to wake him up for work (out-of-state).

I try really hard to keep promises that I make, and I kept looking at my Series posts so I could add to them and just had no words to type. I couldn’t focus. I don’t have it in me to talk about my journey right now. I’m not trying to be selfish at all. I still want to share it with all of you. It’s a journey I’m very proud of, considering where I am now as opposed to where I was. I just need a few more days; as wonderful as you have all been with me since I started this blog, I hope you can understand.

All I’d done for the past week is cry and mourn. I cried for my friend who lost his dad and hasn’t handled the loss well. He could barely function on the day of the wake. Afterwards, I offered my shoulders, my ears and as many hugs as he wanted while we packed his bags for his international flight that would take his dad home to his final resting place.

I cried and mourned for my friend who lost her son so suddenly; I can’t even fathom that loss. I panic at the very thought. Parents are not supposed to outlive their children and yet it happens all too often. This young man left two adorable twins, a little boy and a little girl.Β  The wake for this young man was the same day as my friend’s dad, so I couldn’t make it; plus it was not in NJ. There was a memorial held yesterday, which I very much wanted to attend. Unfortunately, my body was in a lot of pain the night before and into the next day. I slept fitfully throughout the night and even my friend (another co-worker), who was going to be my ride, didn’t think it was a good idea for me to go. Deep down, I know he’s right because I would have been much less likely to be able to contain my emotions properly, even if my body wasn’t acting up. Plus, I’m a mother; a mother with a daughter only a year older than her son was. No way would I have handled that well. No way at all.

Anyway, thanks for listening today. I’m glad to be back and happy that I was able to ‘grieve’ just a bit here with you. Before I go to bed tonight, I’m going to say some extra prayers and maybe even read a bit from my Bible. Everyday, I realize more and more how much I have to be thankful for.

Until next post, love you guys!

14 thoughts on “Just Gotta Grieve a Little

  1. You’re right – no parent should ever outlive their child. That is cruel beyond belief.

    I think you’ve done a lot for your friends while dealing with your own struggles. Don’t feel guilty about not attending the wake. A shoulder to cry on means as much, if not more.

    Like

    • Thank you Alex. I appreciate the comments and the prayers for the families. They could use them. You’re absolutely right; sometimes we forget the blessings we have until something tragic and unexpected happens. Thank you so much for stopping by Ninja. Hugs to you. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hey bff, I know. As much as I wanted to, I don’t think I would have handled the second well at all. Either way, these two weeks were bad. I’m just glad it’s over; now it’s just a matter of playing catch-up. Missed you so much! Didn’t even get a chance to Tweet! Lol.

      Like

  2. Oh wow, what horribly news. I’m so sorry for your losses, and those of your dear friends. I will pray for all of you. I find God be a huge comfort in confusing times like these.
    I’m glad to hear you’re taking good care of yourself throughout this ordeal. It’s important to do that, and I know your friends understand that you do what you can, and that your thoughts are with them.
    Thank you for sharing so openly something so painful. You are one brave woman, and I’m so glad we met.
    Tina @ Life is Good

    Like

    • Hi Tina, thanks so much for your comments. They mean a lot. πŸ™‚ It’s been a rough two weeks, I won’t lie, but such is life. I’m slowly re-learning to deal with life’s painful situations as they arise, I suppose. I’m glad we met too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Lily, You are right…sometimes you have to grieve. There is nothing wrong with that. I recently did a series of blogs about grief. Stand strong in faith even though what has happened is beyond your comprehension. Prayers for you and your friends for a comforting blanket be wrapped around all of you.

    Like

    • Thanks Jo, I appreciate your words of wisdom. Truly. I’m sorry it took me a little while to comment back, but I’ve been a little farther behind in catching up than I expected to be. All the support has been fabulous. Thanks hon. πŸ˜€

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

