Home » IWSG » A Lesson on Friendship – ISWG

A Lesson on Friendship – ISWG

This is my second posting for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. **This awesome group is brought to us by the amazing Alex Cavanaugh and if you are interested in joining, please click on the image below. You will be transported to our Ninja’s site, where you can sign up. We post the first Wednesday of every month. **

I am going to focus this post on my opinion about the subject of friendship and it’s importance to us as writers and as people.

InsecureWritersSupportGroup

People have many ideas on the meaning of what friendship really means. I look at my old Facebook account, which I rarely use, and notice how people love to post quotes and comments about friends, “fake friends” and things like that. It’s very easy for people to say that people can be there for you during good times but disappear when times are hard; thereby meaning they were never “my friend”. I disagree with that statement. In my earlier field, EMS personnel worked closely together, whether we were friends or not. We were acquainted on many levels and had understandings of traumas and issues that many lay people couldn’t fathom. We could talk to each other about things that we couldn’t talk to anyone outside the field comfortably about. It didn’t necessarily make us friends. We were a community of like-minded people who shared similar interests and understood each others turmoil, fears and insecurities.

When I was in the hospital , many colleagues that I never socialized outside of work, came to see in the ICU or at the Rehabilitation Center afterwards. It was comforting and sweet and I felt truly blessed. It’s what happens when turmoil strikes a community. Everyone bands together and does what they need to do to get through things and be there for each other.

True friendship, however, is like any other relationship. It takes work. It’s about honesty and trust. It’s about being yourself and being able to lay out your secrets without fear of being leaked to others. It’s about knowing when to draw certain lines and knowing what lines not to cross.

I don’t have many true friends; and that is by choice. I treasure the ones I do have because they know I would not betray them for selfish reasons and their secrets will always be safe with me.Β  I have been lucky enough to find an online friend that I have been slowly opening up to and find myself grateful for that. Friendships come to us in many ways.

Just like my EMS family, I turn to my writer friends when I have an issue that I need a hand with. This is yet another reason I am so thankful for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group.

12 thoughts on “A Lesson on Friendship – ISWG

    • I absolutely agree. Some people don’t value their friendships enough. I have friendships that I’ve had since childhood and although we don’t see each other much now, the foundation is rock solid. I have a couple that I made later in life that are fairly close to that. Most of the others are colleagues and acquaintances.

      Like

    • Thank you! I’m beginning to find that out now. I’ve met some very special people in the months I’ve spent online. I wouldn’t trade the experiences for anything in the world.

      Like

  1. Going thought this strange thing called writing, can be isolating. It’s a soul pursuit for the most part, but the community I have found is inspiring. πŸ™‚
    You have a friend in me.

    Like

    • It most certainly is Kate. Not too many people I know understand that. The only community I have available to me at this time is my online one since I don’t drive yet; not that I am complaining at all! I consider myself extremely lucky to have come across the community I have. And thank you Kate; I do believe that I have a friend in you. πŸ™‚

      Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

