Home » IWSG » My First Post for The Insecure Writer’s Support Group

My First Post for The Insecure Writer’s Support Group

Hi, my name is Lily, and I am an extremely insecure writer…

Um, so I should mention that I recently joined what I hear is an awesome writing group called ‘The Insecure Writer’s Support Group’ founded by the wonderful Alex J. Cavanaugh. The Group meets the first Wednesday of every month. If you’re interested in joining, just click on the image below and the image will direct you to Alex’s page to sign up.
Click Here to Join!I need to get a bit of history out-of-the-way so we can focus on my insecurities as a writer aspect of my post. 🙂 Most, if not all of my followers know that I suffered a stroke in November of 2011.  Mine was hemorrhagic in nature; meaning that I ruptured an aneurysm in my brain, causing the excess blood to cause damage to my nerves and tissue. Because of the sudden onset of this type of stroke, mortality rates are usually very high. Fortunately for me, I survived and made tremendous strides in my recovery.

Some of the residual problems (as it pertains to my writing) I still face from time to time are problems with my short-term memory, inability to focus for long periods, finding myself unable to find the right words (even though they are right at the tip of my tongue), and general feelings of frustration and being overwhelmed.

I have read posts by other stroke survivors who I have come to admire for the way they write and how easily their words seem to flow. Towards the end of my speech therapy, my therapist said that I was performing at the highest level possible. I will admit that I still need to practice every so often because when I find myself becoming overwhelmed or flustered, I tend to stutter slightly and find myself unable to find my words.

I think I have become so afraid of failing because of everything that has happened, that I haven’t finished any of my projects. I have several in the works. I even signed up for NaNoWriMo in April. Came close to finishing my word count. Didn’t quite make it. I was practicing for November’s big event. I am full of ideas; they usually come from the weirdest places… My imagination runs wild. It always has. That’s why I’ve loved writing since I was a little girl. It’s why I started this blog; to get out there and fulfill my dream. Whatever it takes, I will do this and so many people have helped me get out of my shell little by little. I need to build up the confidence to finish my projects and hopefully get some good stories out there.

I do a lot of reading on the subject of writing as well and am aware of what writers go through. I understand all about the writer’s block, the stories laying dormant in drawers (or computers in my case) for months or years at a time, and the fear of rejection and ridicule. It’s what I go through all the time.

So, I guess what I’m asking is, am I more irrational than most? Do you think my problems are due to whatever residual effects I had from the stroke or is this what most of you have gone through as writers?  I really don’t know. I haven’t personally met any writers to ask. Please be honest. I don’t offend easily as long as you’re not malicious, rude or crude! Lol.

Thank you all for listening and again, my name is Lily and I am an extremely insecure writer…

24 thoughts on “My First Post for The Insecure Writer’s Support Group

  1. Pingback: Insecure Writers Support Group August 2013 | The View Outside

  2. I’m so happy to find you (and thanks for following my blog, which is how I found yours!)–and I can’t wait to read more of your writing. Thanks for introducing us to the Insecure Writers Support Group, which I haven’t heard about, but I’ll be sharing the site with a few of my clients who, like you, are better writers than they think they are!

    Like

  3. Hi, nice to meet you and to find your blog. Writing is fabulous therapy for your stroke, but I think perhaps a stroke is fabulous therapy for writing too. Yes, I think we all feel those insecurities, and we all come at writing with a different experience. Yours is a stroke, but someone else has their own lingering memory laced within their words.

    Like

    • Hi Subtlekate! I love your comment. We all have different experiences that we bring to our writing, true. In my case, I think you hit it dead on with the writing being fabulous therapy for my stroke and the stroke being fabulous therapy for my writing. All I can say is ‘Wow” and thank you.

      Like

  4. Hi D.A.! I can see where you’re going with human frailty being an asset and accepting myself. I do accept myself, flaws and all; gratefully, I might add. However, I have to disagree with you as far as accepting my situation as it is. Let me explain why. If I would have listened to my neurologist a year and a half ago about severe left sided shoulder pain I was having, I would still be walking around contracted today. His words to me were “You suffered a major incident. You’re lucky to be alive. I’m going to give you xxxx to help with the pain. It may or may not resolve over time.” When I asked if there were other tests he could run, he said “No.” I am where I am because I chose NOT to accept the situation the way he laid it out to me. I knew better. I went for a second opinion to a Rehabilitation doctor, who ran multiple tests and found that, not only did I have a frozen shoulder secondary to the stroke, but I also had a partially torn rotator cuff (probably from being unable to use the arm for so long). He put me into physical therapy asap, ordered a machine to my home for exercises on my own, and lo and behold, it’s like a miracle. I believe in the power of positive thought and I knew the problem was not “in my head”. But, D.A., you are right. I do write about it, and will continue to write about it (one of my many unfinished pieces, lol. Well, this one is still a continuing WIP). But I do thank you for visiting my blog and offering some sound advice. I’m sure we will speak again for sure! Enjoy your 4th! 😀

    Like

Scribble your thoughts here...

