Home » UNCATEGORIZED » My Blog » As Promised

As Promised

It’s been a very busy day for me. But I am back, as promised. As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve spent a considerable amount of time trying to research ways to make my blog better, increasing my presence in the twitterverse and making a well rounded, believable first draft of my very first novel. It has been a rough road to say the least.

But it is remarkable how many people in this vast world of the web are willing to help if you just ask. Trust me, I ask. There are two very special tweeps that I owe a great deal of thanks to for helping me maneuver my way through infancy. @mparel was my first real Tweep that helped me out, who herself is fairly new, although she is far ahead of me in this world. She then introduced me to @dcPriya, who has also become a mentor to me. For anyone who is a brand spanking new writer or blogger or Twitter user, I highly recommend that you follow them. They have oh so patiently answered so many of my questions with the utmost patience through Twitter, direct messages and email. I love them both. Of course, if you are an infant like myself too, you are free to follow me as well and we can take the journey together. My twitter handle is @lilicas_place.

I promised to share some information that I thought might help those with little or no experience in the world of blogging and writing. I am going to list only a few because there are just too many. I will continue to post more when I get a chance.

Blogs

http://authormedia.com/blog/

http://editorialstand.wordpress.com

http://indiebookweek.com

http://melissajanda.wordpress.com

http://onbecomingawriter.com

Books

Smashwords Guide- Secrets to eBook Publishing Success-How to Reach More Readers

Smashwords Book Marketing Guide

Smashwords Style Guide                   ***All 3 written by Mark Coker and FREE on Amazon.

Three of the very first eBooks I read.

How I went from 0 to 1,000,000 Blog Hits in One Year, by Ashley Barron.

It’s a quick read but essential for any newbie like me. 99 cents at Amazon and worth every cent and more. My review said it all.

Writing Active Setting-Book 1- Characterization and Sensory Detail

Writing Active Setting-Book 2- Emotion, Conflict and Back Story.

Both written by Mary Buckham and 2.99 each at Amazon. They have helped me tremendously as far as making my characters and settings more believable and less “flat”, so to speak.

Finally, for today, Million Dollar Outlines by David Farland. Great information on outlining your story. $5.99 on Amazon.

This is my list only for today. Like I said, there will be many more to come. I have only given a few to start with.

Like me, I don’t want anyone giving up on what they truly want to do. If you want to write, then write. My favorite cult classic movie The Rocky Horror Picture Show has one line that will always inspire me:  “Don’t dream it, be it”.

Until next time, fellow bloggers.Image

One thought on “As Promised

  1. Pingback: As Promised | lilicasplace

Scribble your thoughts here...

